Re-Imagine Essential Oils | Find a Class Near You

Clinical Corner: Sleep


The stages of sleep can be broadly categorized into two main types: non-rapid eye movement (NREM) sleep and rapid eye movement (REM) sleep. These stages cycle throughout the night in a pattern known as the sleep architecture. Here is an excerpt from sleep mechanisms

Excerpt: Sleep Mechanisms

Stage N3 (NREM 3): Also referred to as deep sleep or slow-wave sleep (SWS), this stage is characterized by the presence of slow brainwaves called delta waves. It is the deepest and most restorative stage of sleep, crucial for physical restoration, growth, and repair. Blood pressure drops, breathing slows down, and the body’s energy is replenished during this stage.

Rapid Eye Movement (REM) Sleep:

Single Oils: Bergamot, Mugwort

Blends: Delta

Sustained Inhalation for 3-15 breathing cycles

Spinal Awareness

Limb Awareness